Saturday, March 2, 2013

Queensrÿche - Empire

Then it's time to introduce today's tune, a continuation of Record Madness where the letter was "Q" this time so it's natural that we choose a song from a record that was presented earlier today.

Queensrÿche is an American progressive heavy metal band formed in 1981 in Bellevue, Washington. The band has released twelve studio albums, one EP and several DVDs, and continues to tour and record. The original lineup consisted of vocalist Geoff Tate, guitarist Chris DeGarmo, guitarist Michael Wilton, bassist Eddie Jackson and drummer Scott Rockenfield.

Empire is the fourth full-length album by the American heavy metal band Queensrÿche, released on August 20, 1990. The album reached triple-platinum status and the single extracted, the power ballad "Silent Lucidity", reached No. 1 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks and No. 9 on the Billboard Hot 100. "Silent Lucidity" was also nominated for the Grammy Awards of 1992 in the categories Best Rock Song and Best Rock Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group.

Geoff Tate lead vocals, keyboards, saxophone
Michael Wilton lead, rhythm & acoustic guitars, backing vocals
Eddie Jackson bass, backing vocals
Scott Rockenfield drums, percussion, keyboards
Chris DeGarmo lead, rhythm & acoustic guitars, backing vocals

Todays tune starts like this...
Last night the word came down, ten dead in Chinatown.
Innocent, their only crime was being in the wrong place, at the wrong time
Too bad, people say what's wrong with the kids today
Tell you right now they've got nothing to lose
They're building EMPIRE!

More info @

Official Queensrÿche Web

spotifyListen to "Queensrÿche - Empire" on Spotify here!
spotifyFollow on Spotify here!

2 kommentarer: