Thursday, 19 May 2016

Radiohead - Burn The Witch

The English rock band RADIOHEAD from Abingdon, Oxfordshire have released a new Video for their latest single "Burn The Witch" that is taken from the latest upcoming ninth studio album "A Moon Shaped Pool". Set to be released on LP and CD on 17 June 2016 through XL Recordings, followed by a "special edition" in September containing additional artwork and two additional tracks.

The band formed in 1985. The band consists of Thom Yorke (lead vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards), Jonny Greenwood (lead guitar, keyboards, other instruments), Colin Greenwood (bass), Phil Selway (drums, percussion, backing vocals) and Ed O'Brien (guitar, backing vocals). They have worked with producer Nigel Godrich and cover artist Stanley Donwood since 1994.


Today's tune "Burn the Witch", released as download on 3 May 2016 as the first single from their ninth studio album "A Moon Shaped Pool". The song features a string section playing col legno battuto, producing a percussive sound. It was accompanied by a stop-motion animated music video that pays homage to the 1960s British children's television programme Camberwick Green and the 1973 British horror film The Wicker Man. The song's lyrics and video have been interpreted as a warning against groupthink and authoritarianism.

According to long-time RADIOHEAD producer Nigel Godrich, RADIOHEAD worked on "Burn the Witch" during the sessions for their albums Kid A (2000), Hail to the Thief (2003), and In Rainbows (2007); the phrase "burn the witch" appears in the Hail to the Thief album artwork. The song was mentioned by frontman Thom Yorke in a 2005 blog entry on RADIOHEADs website and was briefly teased in performances in 2006 and 2008, but it was never played in full. In 2007, Yorke posted lyrics on the band's website.

Asked in 2013 about the status of RADIOHEADs unreleased songs, including "Burn the Witch", Godrich responded, "Everything will surface one day... it all exists... and so they will eventually get there, I'm sure."He cited the song "Nude", released on RADIOHEADs 2007 album In Rainbows but written 12 years prior, as an example of a song that took several years to complete

The Video is directed by Chris Hopewell, Produced by Rosie Lea Brind, Edit by Ben Foley and DOP by Jon Davey. Art Director & Production Designer - Chris Hopewell , Post effects and grading - Ben Foley at Buckloop, Key Animators - Virpi Kettu, Louie Mc Namara, Oli Putland, Animators - Aaron Hopewell, Andrew Stewart, Rosie Lea Brind, Chris Hopewell, Set construction - Holly Jo Beck, Lois Garland, Puppets and props - Elaine Andrew, Virpi Kettu, Bonnie Griffin, Lucy Roberts, Ash Clarke, Ella Baraclough, Bec Coates, Rosie Lea Brind, Chris Hopewell, Andrew Stuart. Production company - Jacknife.

More info @

Official Radiohead Web

Listen to ”Radiohead - Burn The Witch" on Spotify!

Follow on Spotify!

No comments: