Monday, October 5, 2009

Kent - Töntarna

Kent is a Swedish band founded in Eskilstuna in 1990, with the name Coca-Cola Kids, later Jones & Giftet (Jones & the Poison), and Havsänglar (Sea angels). As of 2007, they are one of the most popular pop/rock groups in Sweden, but are more or less unknown outside Scandinavia. Kent shortly attempted an international career with English versions of the albums Isola and Hagnesta Hill with accompanying U.S. tours for the former, but they gave up after not reaching the breakthrough they had hoped for. Kent continued their Scandinavian endeavours with three more albums and an EP. The band has sold over a million records. "VinterNoll2" is also an unlockable track in Career Mode on Guitar Hero World Tour :)

Today the new single Töntarna (translates to The Geeks) is released digitally, on october 12 the single is released physically The new Kent album "Röd" (translates to Red), their 8th overall, will be released on November 6. The album will also be released as a deluxe version including the CD, 2 x 10" vinyl and 1 USB memory stick. This spring kent will do a tour i Sweden, Finland, Denmark and Norway. In total 14 shows have been booked starting february 25 in Stockholm and ending in Örebro march 30. See the tour plan below.

So, what can i say about the new tune from Kent, well first you can hear that this is continuation from where they left last time. The typical Kent sound is there and the same with the way they build up the tune so by and large it's Kent. There is more of the electronica sound than Im use to hear, in a sufficient dose its alright. The lyrics are still as brilliant as they use to be, i guess i need to let this one grow, i hope the record will let Sami have some more space than in this tune. Anyway, enjoy this!

Tourplan spring 2010:

25 februari – Stockholm, Annexet
26 februari – Stockholm, Annexet
3 mars – Gävle, Läkerol Arena
5 mars – Helsingfors, Hartwall Arena
10 mars – Linköping, Cloetta Center
12 mars – Århus, Kongresscenter
13 mars – Köpenhamn, Tap1
14 mars – Malmö, Malmö Arena
18 mars – Göteborg, Lisebergshallen
19 mars – Göteborg, Lisebergshallen
24 mars – Oslo, Oslo Spektrum
25 mars – Bergen, Grieghallen
27 mars – Bodö, Bodö Spektrum
30 mars – Örebro, Conventum Arena

2 kommentarer:

Klas Linde said...

You know that there are four guitar overlays in that track, right? According to our Jocke Berg himself. They're only stuffed with effects.

I like the track- it's a nice step in their own direction. A little darker than TTS was.

Sun said...

This track is awesome! This band is awesome! I'm gonna get them airplay here in the Solomon Islands!