Wednesday, 28 April 2010

Barren Earth - Flicker

Barren Earth is a Progressive Death Metal band that was formed in Helsinki, Finland in 2007. Barren Earth consist of Olli-Pekka Laine(ex-Amorphis, Mannhai) on Bass, Marko Tarvonen (Moonsorrow) on Drums, Kasper Mårtenson (ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band) on Keyboard, Janne Perttilä on Guitar, Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator, Waltari) on Guitar and Mikko Kotamäki (Swallow The Sun) on Vocals.

The music of Barren Earth combines elements of modern and traditional death metal, with 70's prog rock and folk. The singing part is very similar to Opeth, mixing growling and fine singing. Among the band's influences are artists like Paradise Lost, Opeth, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull and also some pioneers of Finnish prog. This is very good quality music that Tune Of The Day highly recommend to get. I will for sure!

Todays tune "Flicker" is taken from their last record "Curse Of The Red River"

More info: Official Barren Earth Website or Barren Earth at MySpace

Listen to "Barren Earth - Flicker" on Spotify
Follow on Spotify

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thanks for this, never heard this band before and this sounds great.

Rock on