Sunday, July 15, 2018

Steppenwolf - The Pusher

"The Pusher" is a rock song written by Hoyt Axton, made popular by the 1969 movie Easy Rider which used STEPPENWOLFs version to accompany the opening scenes showing drug trafficking.

The lyrics of the song distinguish between a dealer in drugs such as marijuana—who "will sell you lots of sweet dreams"—and a pusher of hard drugs such as heroin—a "monster" who doesn't care "if you live or if you die"

The song was made popular when rock band STEPPENWOLF released the song on their 1968 album "Steppenwolf".

Organist Goldy McJohn, who recorded the original STEPPENWOLF version, said the version that appears on Early STEPPENWOLF performed by "Sparrow" (pre-STEPPENWOLF moniker) in 1967 at the Matrix came about when singer John Kay and Jerry Edmonton were late for a performance:

Nick and Mars and me started that long version of "the Pusher". John and Jerry's flight was late one night at the Avalon Ballroom, so we started and then we perfected it at the "Arc" in Sausalito on New Year's Eve in 1966.

STEPPENWOLF is a Canadian-American rock band, prominent from 1968 to 1972. The group was formed in late 1967 in Los Angeles by lead singer John Kay, keyboardist Goldy McJohn, and drummer Jerry Edmonton (all formerly in Jack London & the Sparrows from Oshawa, Ontario). Guitarist Michael Monarch and bass guitarist Rushton Moreve were recruited by notices placed in Los Angeles-area record and musical instrument stores.

Enjoy today's tune, last one for this season, we will take a few weeks off and take a trip, cya all in August.

More info @

Official Steppenwolf  Web

Listen to ”Steppenwolf - The Pusher" on Spotify!

Follow on Spotify!

Saturday, July 14, 2018

Bomber - Come Tomorrow

The debut EP "Arrival", is the brand new record by the hard rock band BOMBER from Malmö, Sweden. With its four heavy hitting tracks, on its way to become a soon to be classic! BOMBER is currently working on a full length debut album and are looking for a label to work with.

"Arrival" is armed with the best rock songs this side of 1980, virtuoso playing, great licks, great influences of THIN LIZZY.

Rasmus Grahn
Anton Sköld
Sebastian Dahlberg
Love Andersson

Enjoy "Come Tomorrow" taken from the EP, video is directed by Thomas Romlöv.

More info @

Official Bomber Facebook

Listen to ”Bomber - Come Tomorrow" on Spotify!

Follow on Spotify!

Friday, July 13, 2018

Kultur Shock - Refugee Song

KULTUR SHOCK is a Seattle-based gypsy punk band which specializes in mixing music like rock, metal and punk with traditional Balkan music. Even if the style is impossible to define- many critics throw SOAD, GOGOL BORDELLO, MANU CHAO, GANG OF FOUR, THE POGUES, Balkan folk music, punk rock, heavy metal as references to it, but nothing can prepare the unsuspecting listener to what is going to come out of their home stereo speakers or what's going to happen to them during the 90 minutes live shows that the band is known for. In two words- the description is a mix of all of the above in a seamless new sound, that takes the listener on a trip and never lets go.

Active since 1996, KULTUR SHOCK members hail from Bosnia, Bulgaria, and the United States. The band has performed over 1000 shows throughout the United States and Europe.

The band defines itself as "a live band of blue-collar immigrants".


Gino - vocals, synth
Val - guitar
Amy - bouzouki, vocals
Chris - drums, percussion
Guy - bass
Matty - violin

Today's tune "Refugee Song" is taken from the EP "Drama", released April 1, 2018. The video was directed, shot and chopped by Dima Levanchuk. Enjoy!

More info @

Official Kultur Shock Web

Listen to ”Kultur Shock - Refugee Song" on Spotify!

Follow on Spotify!

Thursday, July 12, 2018

Metal Allegiance - We Rock

"We Rock" is a classic rocker taken from the second studio album "The Last In Line" by the American heavy metal band Dio, released on July 2, 1984.

The song is a really classic among rockers and many cover versions have been made. The all-star metal band METAL ALLEGIANCE is one of them, a great cover from a great gang of musicans and singers. The video consisting of a rotating cast of musicians like Mark Osegueda, Chris Jericho, Tim "Ripper" Owens, Alissa White-Gluz, Chuck Billy and Steve "Zetro" Souza, Lead & Rhythm Guitars: Alex Skolnick Bass: David Ellefson Drums: Mike Portnoy Additional Lead Guitar: Andreas Kisser, Phil Demmel & Gary Holt.

Brought together by METAL ALLEGIANCE principal partner Mark Menghi, the project's original material came together from the creative minds of David Ellefson of MEGADETH, Mike Portnoy of THE WINERY DOGS, and Alex Skolnick from TESTAMENT, alongside Menghi. The four writers then reached out through their metal Rolodexes to a diverse lineup of performers, each adding their own personal musical stamp to the collection of nine original songs.

Today's tune "We Rock" is taken from the self-titled debut by METAL ALLEGIANCE, enjoy!

More info @

Official Metal Allegiance Web

Listen to ”Metal Allegiance - We Rock" on Spotify!

Follow on Spotify!