Thursday, January 15, 2015

Michael Schenker's Temple of Rock - Vigilante Man

Michael Schenker's Temple of Rock, the band led by legendary German guitarist Michael Schenker (Scorpions, UFO), will release their next studio album, titled "Spirit On A Mission", which is set to release on March 23.

The band features Schenker alongside ex-Rainbow singer Doogie White, guitarist/keyboardist Wayne Findlay, bassist Francis Buchholz and ex-Scorpions drummer Herman Rarebell.

"Spirit On A Mission" features twelve 12 classic rock guitar-driven songs that highlight Schenker's distinctive and dynamic guitar playing, valiantly underpinned by the ferocious rhythm section of Rarebell and Buchholz, the same rhythm section that originally performed together on the Scorpions' 1979 album "Lovedrive".

Michael remembers how he came up with the name of the new album: "A while ago I was asked how I wanted to be remembered, and I said 'as a spirit on a mission, spreading the joy of music from a place of pure self expression.'"

Scottish vocalist Doogie White, who co-wrote the album with Schenker, soars across every song, and stamps his personality with every note and phrase, while Wayne Findlay adds a new level to Schenker's classic sound with his Dean seven-string guitar and keyboard arrangements.

"Spirit On A Mission" is a rapturous, explosive collection of brand new songs steeped in shades of dark and light. Musically and lyrically, the new album shows a re-energized guitarist at the top of his game, surrounded by some of the best musicians in rock.

The new album was recorded at Kidroom Studios in Münster, Germany; the same studio where 2013's "Bridge The Gap" album was laid down. The album was produced by Michael Voss and Michael Schenker, and engineered by Voss.

The new album also sees guitarist and keyboard player Wayne Findlay taking on a bigger role.

"Spirit On A Mission" track listing:

01. Live And Let Live 02. Communion*
03. Vigilante Man
04. Rock City
05. Saviour Machine*
06. Something Of The Night
07. All Our Yesterdays
08. Bulletproof*
09. Let The Devil Scream*
10. Good Times
11. Restless Heart
12. Wicked*
13. Searching For Freedom (instrumental) (bonus track on deluxe edition + vinyl edition)

All songs are written by:

Music - Michael Schenker
Lyrics - Doogie White

Except* music and lyrics by Michael Schenker, Doogie White, Wayne Findlay

Asked if he is more comfortable as a solo artist or playing in an established group, Schenker told Guitar World magazine: "Definitely as a solo artist.

"It was very important for me to create MSG, which I did for creative freedom. It let me express myself in so many ways and not be held down by any one particular type of monster machine.

"I hate being a box, and I'm glad I didn't get stuck in one for my entire career.

"I love the fact that I don't know what's going to happen next for me. And that's the difference between me and my brother [Scorpions guitarist Rudolf Schenker]: he looks at the big picture, I look at the details. We're opposites, even though we have the same genes and share a lot of the same emotions when it comes to music."

Regarding how he came to join the Scorpions, Michael said: "My brother always got me my gigs in the early days. I had been in bands since I was 11, and one day my brother told me that he wanted me to hook up with this great singer he knew, and that was Klaus Meine. Rudolf introduced us, and we started a band together called THE COPERNICUS. Our rehearsal space was right next to the Scorpions, and one day we were rehearsing and they were listening to us — their singer was late for rehearsal — and they approached Klaus and me about joining the band, and we did."

Todays tune "Vigilante Man" is taken from the upcoming album "Spirit On A Mission"(released 23rd March 2015).

More info @

About Michael Schenker's Temple of Rock Web

No Spotify yet, will update up on release!

spotifyFollow on Spotify here

0 kommentarer: