Sunday, November 17, 2013

Black Star Riders - Hey Judas

A few days ago we got a nice celebrate visit of the real rock stars, namely Scott Gorham and his band Black Star Riders that played at Debaser Medis here in Stockholm.

They did a very good show and it was really nice to see Scott Gorham again live on stage and he still can play guitar. The show was tight and well played and it was very nice to hear the classic tunes live again, even if never got the chance to see Thin Lizzy live on stage, this was probably as close to the real thing as it is possible at the moment. Support for the evening was the Swedish rock band "The Gloria Story" which had the heavy task of starting up the evening with only a fraction of tonight's visitors that had arrived to the venue, tough thing, but they delivered a good rock show anyway, well done guys. The second support was the Russian rock band "Red Scool" that had a really classic touch with a really good singer.

The band also contains some really renowned musicians such as Ricky Warwick (The Almighty) - Vocals, Damon Johnson (Brother Cane and Alice Cooper)- Lead Guitar, Marco Mendoza (Ted Nugent/Whitesnake/Blue Murder) - Bass Guitar and Jimmy DeGrasso (Megadeth, Suicidal Tendencies, White Lion and Alice Cooper) - Drums. Gorham is the only member of Black Star Riders to have been a member of Thin Lizzy while Phil Lynott led the band and thus the only one to have appeared on a Thin Lizzy studio album.

Black Star Riders was formed in December 2012, when members of the most recent line-up of Thin Lizzy decided to record new material, but chose not to release it under the Thin Lizzy name. While Thin Lizzy will continue on an occasional basis, Black Star Riders will be a full-time band, described as "the next step in the evolution of the Thin Lizzy story". The band's first album, All Hell Breaks Loose, was released on 21 May 2013. The album was produced & mixed by the legendary Kevin Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Aerosmith, Rush), their first studio album All Hell Breaks Loose features cover artwork by Gil Elvgren - the most renowned pin-up artist in the history of American Illustration.

Todays tune "Hey Judas" is taken from "All Hell Breaks Loose"

Setlist @Debaser:

All Hell Breaks Loose
Are You Ready (Thin Lizzy cover)
Bad Reputation (Thin Lizzy cover)
Before the War
Jailbreak (Thin Lizzy cover)
Hoodoo Voodoo
Massacre (Thin Lizzy cover)
Kingdom of the Lost
Hey Judas
Southbound (Thin Lizzy cover)
Kissin' the Ground
Valley of the Stones
Emerald (Thin Lizzy cover)
Bound for Glory
Cowboy Song (Thin Lizzy cover)
The Boys Are Back in Town (Thin Lizzy cover)

Whiskey in the Jar (Thin Lizzy cover)
Rosalie (Bob Seger cover)

Upcoming Tourdates:

15 Nov 2013 ROCK AT SEA Cruise Stockholm, Sweden
16 Nov 2013 Virgin Oil Helsinki, Finland
17 Nov 2013 Amager Bio Copenhagen, Denmark
18 Nov 2013 Godset Kolding, Denmark
19 Nov 2013 Live Music Hall Cologne, Germany
20 Nov 2013 Biebob Vosselaar, Belgium
22 Nov 2013 O2 Academy Bournemouth, England
23 Nov 2013 Shepherds Bush Empire London, England
24 Nov 2013 O2 Academy Bristol, UK
26 Nov 2013 Junction Cambridge, UK
27 Nov 2013 UEA Norwich, UK
29 Nov 2013 HARD ROCK HELL Pwllheli, Gwynedd, North Wales
30 Nov 2013 Wulfrun Hall Wolverhampton, UK
01 Dec 2013 University / Solus Cardiff, UK
02 Dec 2013 O2 Academy Oxford, UK
03 Dec 2013 O2 Academy Liverpool, UK
05 Dec 2013 Ironworks Inverness, Scotland
06 Dec 2013 Picturehouse Edinburgh, Scotland
07 Dec 2013 O2 Academy Newcastle, UK
08 Dec 2013 O2 Academy Leeds, UK
10 Dec 2013 The Assembly Rooms Leamington Spa
12 Dec 2013 Rock City Nottingham, England
13 Dec 2013 Ritz Manchester, Uk
14 Dec 2013 Academy Dublin, IRE
15 Dec 2013 Belfast Limelight Belfast, N. Ireland

More info @

Official Black Star Riders Web

spotifyListen to ”Black Star Riders - Hey Judas" on Spotify here!

spotifyFollow on Spotify here!

0 kommentarer: